TechTrends in Education — Using Video with Zaption

This week in EDTECH 501, I reviewed the Horizon Report on higher education. The report discusses new technology that is catching on in education and identifies tools that will be coming in the future. I have noticed a shift at my institution to use videos, specifically for evaluation, and found a promising piece of software called Zaption to analyze. This will be very useful for my department as many instructors are looking for new ways to evaluate students through innovative technology.

Zaption allows you to incorporate captions and questions over videos found online. The free version of Zaption is very robust, although a more complex paid version is also available. When students sign up for a free account, instructors can analyze their answers and track their progress through course material. I often give workshops that highlight new technologies and wanted to create a presentation that would introduce instructors to Zaption. I created a Prezi presentation that shows instructors step-by-step instructions on getting started with Zaption. I used the “print screen” function in Windows along with Photoshop CC to create the images for the presentation. I also will be creating a video to insert into the presentation. The video will show myself explaining what Zaption is and will actually be created in Zaption.

I also created a lesson plan that I hope to implement next semester. The focus of the lesson will be to introduce students to the mechanics of digital cameras. Their homework will be a quiz through Zaption. The details are in the lesson plan and I look forward to getting their feed back on the assignment.

Any suggestions on improvement to my presentation or lesson plan will be greatly appreciated!

This entry was posted in 4.3 Reflection on Practice, 4.4 Assessing/Evaluating, AECT Standard 4 (Professional Knowledge and Skills), Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment